Any Crafty Critters Out There?

by

I found the most terrific book in the library the other day. It’s a book especially for crafty critters with a yearning to make their special talent a career or a DIY industry! It’s called The Handmade Marketplace: How to sell your crafts locally, globally and online by Kari Chapin.

The book discusses and gives great advice for starting your own DIY business, how to spread the word about all the good things you’re doing and how to sell your wares. The only problem is… it’s from an American perspective. Don’t fret, it’ll still give you lots of ideas and point you in the right directions.

For those of you who are just after some fun with handmade projects, there is another book I found which is pretty fab. It’s The Homemade Home: 50 thrifty and chic homemade projects, written by Sania Pell. It’s a great read for those interested in recycling and making pretty things for the home. Oh, how I wish I was crafty!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Any Crafty Critters Out There?”

  1. sam Says:

    Hey, I’m not a crafty person at all but I am keen to learn a few skills and techniques. Perhaps learn about patch working, attempt to knit a scarf, find out how to digitalise my photographs or hear from local artists. If this sounds interesting to you the Gold Coast libraries have a number of sessions which you can book into at your local branch.

    I feel really inspired now so I should borrow the books you mentioned ladies, thanks!

  2. loupie Says:

    Oh these books look great!
    I love borrowing craft mags and books, although I have to be honest and say that I plan to make a lot more of them than I actually make.

    One Aussie craft website, for anyone wanting to sell their crafty creations, that the US book may not mention, is madeit. One of the nice things about them is that they obviously genuinely love handmade stuff and the website has a real “community of crafters” feel to it.

Leave a Reply

