William Kostakis

by

This month’s blurb it guest is William Kostakis, which is appropriate because our theme is reality and William’s book, Loathing Lola, is all about Courtney Marlow – an ordinary 15 year old girl who decides to be part of a reality TV show called Real Teens, only to discover that reality TV is really about faking it.

YOU CAN WIN a copy of Loathing Lola – just respond to this post with a comment or question for William to answer, and you could be one of the 10 lucky winners.

Now it’s over to William to answer blurb it’s questions:

What are some of the different jobs you’ve had?
I’ve worked in a TV newsroom (boring), as a sales attendant in a first aid kit stall (just as boring), a waiter in a stadium’s private suites (I met Pamela Anderson, I walked past her holding two jugs of milk over my chest – I had to bite my tongue really hard not to make the joke), but most notably, I worked at Maccas for four years. I spent my time bingeing on chicken nuggets, being a smart-arse to customers, and starting sauce fights with other staff (Fun Fact: Big Mac and McChicken sauces are kept in guns, you literally put the sauce cartridge in like ammo and shoot – so we’d run around the kitchen firing at each other)… and I didn’t get fired. I got promoted. I got promoted a lot.

If you weren’t a writer what would you be?
Probably a teacher. It’s like being a comedian, only, if the kids don’t laugh at your jokes, you fail them.

If you could be any character in a book for a day, who would you choose to be?
Edward Cullen. I’ve always wondered, if you’re a main character in a bad book – do you see all the typos?

What is your opinion on the use of swearing in YA books?
F***ing love it. I mean, I always loved to use colourful language as a teen in real life, so why should books for teens be written any differently?

If you were a crayon, what colour would you be?
Blue?

How do you feel about plagarism in blogs?
How I feel about plagiarism in everything: if they’re not your words, don’t say they are.

Do you have any secret talents?
I have a special knack for falling down stairs – does that count? Seriously, give me a flight of stairs, and the odds are, I’ll fall down them at least once.

What is your favourite dessert?
Warmed up chocolate cake with ice cream. The best. Ever.

Should books written for a YA audience have a happy ending?
No, YA audiences aren’t precious. If they can handle the F-word, they can handle an unhappy ending. So long as the ending is the best possible ending for the story, whether it’s happy or sad doesn’t matter.

What was the last book you read?
This is going to sound really self-absorbed, but my own… I’m teaching a class on it tomorrow, and I’ve… kinda forgotten it.

You wouldn’t be caught dead, where?
At a Justin Bieber concert.

That’s all from William – if you’ve got another question for him, just comment below and you’ll be in the running to win a copy of Loathing Lola.

Tags: , , , , ,

17 Responses to “William Kostakis”

  1. Joan Says:

    I have a good knack falling UP the stairs and that hurts almost as bad. Perhaps even more so!
    And damn! I discovered you too late!! The giveaway is over right? 😦
    Anyhow, great interview!

    • Anonymous Says:

      It’s never too late to discover William Kostakis 😛 …. HAHAHA

      Thanks for commenting… I don’t know if the giveaway’s over yet though, hope not!

  2. fromawriter Says:

    How interesting. Being Edward Cullen and blue. Ah.
    I find it such a shame that I can’t order this book from where I live in, California, but o3o I also believe that it shall be a bestseller, in my mind of course.

    Do you listen to music during writing?

    I don’t actually. Because one time, I was making my character feel/do what the song lyrics were saying. And they weren’t bad lyrics, just lyrics. But they weren’t humorous either, but I wonder what would happen if they were.

    • William Kostakis Says:

      i used to write with music, but now i find it close to impossible to write without complete silence 😦 … or a class running in the background that i’m not paying attention to 😛

  3. Michelle Says:

    Dearest William,

    How do you react when people say they’ve read your book? Is it sincere appreciation or typical arrogance? How do you respond to constructive criticism?

    The Book reminded me of my school days and it was an easy read.

    When is Magnum Opus coming out, mate?

    Cheers,
    Michelle

    • William Kostakis Says:

      Hi Michelle,

      When people say they’ve read my book, it’s such a great feeling. I’ve been so used to sharing my writing with people I know, that when strangers come u pto me saying they’ve read/liked my work ,I get kinda speechless. When I do get aorund to speaking, though, my first question is always, “What sucked?” I lvoe constructive criticism – I know I’ll only get better when I know what did/didn’t work.

      As for Magnum Opus, no idea when it’s out. Hopefully soon.

      William

  4. Adelaide Dupont Says:

    Dear Will,

    What do you like to eat and drink during a big writing session?

  5. Quirky REALITY « blurb it Says:

    […] does she want to be? Or try Loathing Lola, written by Australian teenager, William Kostakis. Read the interview with William and make a comment to go in the running to win a free copy of Loathing […]

  6. Jason Says:

    A friend of mine said if I don’t get a copy of Loathing Lola, I can’t ask them out on a date. Can you please help me by sending me a copy of the book? I’ve looked in all the major bookstores and they don’t have a copy.

    • L15A Says:

      Jason, I can’t send you a copy unfortunately but I can suggest you look up your library catalogue online and see if they have a copy you can borrow! Good luck with your date 🙂

  7. Naomi Says:

    Nice interview. I have a talent for falling down stairs too. I fell down an entire flight on my first day at uni and knocked two random people down with me. Good times 🙂

  8. Jo Says:

    >>So long as the ending is the best possible ending for the story, whether it’s happy or sad doesn’t matter.<<

    This. So much. Why do so many people seem preoccupied with prescribing certain types of stories (and endings, and languages, and subject matter) instead of just telling a good story?

  9. limeywesty Says:

    Amen to both the Justin Beiber, YA swearing and dessert comments.

  10. Win a copy of Loathing Lola « William Kostakis Says:

    […] Posted by William Kostakis in Random Musings. Tags: Loathing Lola trackback My good friends at Blurb It are giving away TEN copies of Loathing Lola. Click here for your chance to […]

  11. WIN Loathing Lola « blurb it Says:

    […] YOU CAN WIN a copy of Loathing Lola – if you live on the Gold Coast, just check out the blurb it interview with William Kostakis, leave a comment or question for William to answer before the 6th of June 2010, and you will go in […]

Leave a Reply

