What to read, what to read???

by

What have I done?!  A friend of mine told me I don’t read enough books for teens. Okay, okay, in actual fact they told me I don’t read enough books full stop.

So I have set myself the ultimate challenge! I am going to read 25 teen books this year! THERE YOU HAVE IT IN WRITING! uh oh…..

Does this sound easy to you? I’m not so confident, because I’m not sure what to read. So far I’ve read 1 book, yes 1! Things are looking good (ha ha note the sarcasm).

I’ll keep you guys posted as I go but here’s my tally so far:Liar

1. Liar by Justine Larbalestier ( I give it 3 stars out of 5), and I’m picky!

I’ve decided to use the following websites to inspire my choice of reads:

www.teenreads.com

www.guysread.com

If you know of any great reads to recommend to me, or websites to tantalise my reading taste buds let me know!

I’m not one to back down from a challenge, so bring it on! Anyone want to join me on my challenge?

7 Responses to “What to read, what to read???”

  1. sam Says:

    A teen novel I have loved is called Uglies by Scott Westerfeld, I devoured it in just a few hours! The story is set in a far off and very strange future where everyone is considered hideously ugly until they have cosmetic surgery at the age of 16, making them pretty!

    The main character, named Tally, is eagerly awaits her 16th birthday, that is, until she meets up with Shay, who isn’t sure she wants to turn Pretty at all. They become friends, having heaps of fun pulling pranks, but Tally doesn’t even truly consider Shay’s stance on not turning pretty until Shay disappears on their shared birthday and Tally is picked up by an evil doctor. I won’t go on so as to not ruin the story (in case you want to read it)

    This is a novel that makes you think about responsibility, honour, trust, the right and wrong dilemma. There’s also action, drama, intrigue and love. It’s great and can be enjoyed by all ages!!

    • DJ Says:

      Thanks Sam. I’m actually in the midst of reading this book at the moment. I’m loving it! It really does make you think about what beauty is and the many ways and forms beauty is represented and considered around the world.

  2. Timothy Says:

    Nextwave, DJ.

    Everyone should read Nextwave.

    Skipping that, Fables. Get in before they make the TV series. It’s more mystery than humor.

  3. loupie Says:

    I read the first book in a teen series by Kelley Armstrong on the weekend – it’s called The Summoning. She has developed an interesting supernatural mythos for her ‘Women of the Otherworld’ series, and this book uses that background, but you don’t have to have read any of those books.

    Basic premise – what if the teenagers sent to a ‘group home’ for antisocial behaviour or delusions actually had supernatural powers? I quite enjoyed the way that the plot was revealed and the teenage characters were well done, although secondary adult characters (eg the nurses and tutor) weren’t much more than a name and a cause of obstruction. Still, if you like supernatural fantasy, and you’re willing to commit to a trilogy, try The Summoning.

    Or, for an Australian teen psychic read the Gina Champion books, by Kim Wilkins. They’re great fun!

    • DJ Says:

      Awesome thanks Loupie. I’ll try and check it out. I love super powers, so sounds right up my alley!

  4. DJ Says:

    What a great idea Timothy! I’m after some graphic novels with humour though. Any suggestions?…

  5. Timothy Says:

    Do graphic novels count? 8)

Leave a Reply

