Harry Potter and the Read-a-like

by

The other day I had a discussion with other YP staff about what we recommend to our teen readers after they have finished a series and want to read something pretty similar… so we have decided to start a new series on our blog…

THE READ-A-LIKE SERIES!!!! 🙂

We will start putting together some ideas about what books to suggest after you have finished some favourite titles… Twilight, the Tomorrow Series… When you have finished reading a great series but have been left wanting more!

SO – the first one in the series will be the HARRY POTTER books.  What would you recommend?  I know what I’m going to suggest – how ’bout you?

janetmck – Flickr Creative Commons

Leave a comment – and we’ll post the recommendations in our new series of blogs!

Advertisements

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Harry Potter and the Read-a-like”

  1. Timothy Says:

    Sam’s right about “The Dark is Rising”. The film was terrible, though, so don’t let it put you off.

    The Chrestomanci books by Diana Wynne Jones are good too. The first one is “Charmed life”.

  2. jam (library staff) Says:

    Thanks sophieanna – great pick!

  3. sophieanna Says:

    Try also The Magicians by Lev Grossman. It is a bit Harry Potter meets Narnia.

  4. sam Says:

    I have seen the Earthsea books and they look interesting. I have seen the movie which was fun but I expect the books are even better!

  5. loupie Says:

    Oh, definitely, Sam, Susan Cooper’s series is fantastic.

    Also, another fantasy classic, the Earthsea books by Ursula le Guin. The first in the series, A wizard of Earthsea, is a brilliant tale of a young magician who attends a training college for mages, where he unleashes a darkness into the world because of his pride. Le Guin’s use of a far subtler version of good/evil, rather than the usual fantasy stereotype, makes this a stand-out book.

  6. sam Says:

    I’d like to suggest – The Dark is Rising by Susan Cooper Series.

    In the five-title series of novels known as The Dark Is Rising Sequence. The children pit the power of good against the evil in a timeless and dangerous battle that includes crystal swords, golden grails, and a silver-eyed dog that can see the wind. I fell in love with the magic! The series is wonderful. If you like imaginative, gripping stories, I highly recommend this series for adults and children.

    The series includes Over Sea, Under Stone, The Dark Is Rising, Greenwitch, The Grey King, and Silver on the Tree.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: