Friday Five: My Top 5 Oscar Picks

by

I admittedly never really paid much attention to “awards season”, and never tuned in to watch The Golden Globes/Screen Actors Guild Awards/The Academy Awards. Most of the films usually aren’t released in Australia until the awards ceremonies are all over, so I never have any personal attachment to it all… But, I’ve recently acquired a bunch of friends who are huge film nerds: they love the technical side of film production, are aware of all of the directors and their entire back catalogues, and they love this time of year. Because of this, in the last couple of years awards season has become kinda fun for me! We all have to print off a complete list of all categories and pick which we think will win– I usually do this by random guessing, or choosing someone/thing with a name I like. We then all meet up, eat tasty snacks, and watch the awards from start to finish, marking off our lists as we go until we have a winner amongst us. It may sound silly, but really is a lot of fun. So, to mark the event of the Oscars in just under two weeks, here are my picks for the five biggest categories.

1. Best Picture: Avatar
Everybody I know has seen this film, and it will win because of the technical element, if nothing else.

2. Best Actor in a Leading Role: Jeff Bridges
Nominated for ‘Crazy Heart’. Like I said earlier, I often have no idea when picking my winners, and this is one of those times.

3. Best Actress in a Leading Role: Gabourey Sidibe
All I know about ‘Precious‘ – the film Sidibe stars in – is that it’s backed by Oprah, features Mariah Carey actually wearing normal clothes, and is based on the novel ‘Push‘, written by Sapphire. I also am aware of how many critics have speculated over this prediction and that’s good enough for me.

4. Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Christoph Waltz
In my opinion, Christoph Waltz was the best things about ‘Inglourious Basterds’ (which I’m hoping none of you have seen! I had my eyes covered for a large part of this film). I also think he stands a pretty good chance.

5. Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Maggie Gyllenhaal
I just really, really like Maggie Gyllenhaal.

So, if you have nothing better to do come Oscar night, grab a group of friends and a list of the nominees and have some fun. Be careful though: due to the fact the Oscars screen in the U.S. in the evening, the results are usually all over the news on the morning before they air here in the evening. So no cheating!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Friday Five: My Top 5 Oscar Picks”

  1. sam Says:

    Monique played the mother in ‘Precious’ and yes she was great, her character most unlikable but very well acted.

  2. joyo Says:

    My pick would be ‘Precious’ but I just know that not enough people will see this movie for it to rate. Its very confronting but the acting by Gabourey Sidibe and whoever played her mother was superb!

  3. bindis Says:

    I really like Maggie Gyllenhaal too. I wonder ‘who’ she will wear.
    (I really hate that about the Oscars!!)

  4. sam Says:

    Amber,
    I do like to pick the winners but I am often a little off the mark. My top 5 winners are:
    1.Best Picture: Avatar (with all the hype and the record viewing its a must to win, right? Plus it is a great film!)
    2. Best Supporting Actress: Maggie Gyllenhaal (she is just georgeous)
    3. Best Actress: Meryl Streep (Julie and Julia, she was fantastic in this film) Sandra Bullock has a great chance (I can’t wait to see The Blind Side!)
    4. Best Actor: Morgan Freeman (While Invictus was a little slow for me, Morgan was superb)
    5. Best Animated Film: Up (This was fun)

    So, no I don’t have anything better to do and will be tuning in to the Oscars and thanks for the tip about keeping a closed ear to the results.

Leave a Reply

