Don’t judge a book by the cover!

by

              

                              

We’ve all heard the saying. “You shouldn’t judge a book by its cover”

Of course sometimes it’s often an analogy for “You can’t judge what a person is like by the way they look”

But, having said that……… Why not? I like looking at the cover of the book and it usually says a little about what the book is like. I’m going to choose a book and read the blurb of the book that I like the cover of, not some boring cover art that I don’t like. I would rather there be no artwork at all than something that looks like yuk!

But what about the great books and the popular books. Take the Twilight series, some of the most popular books around but let’s be honest couldn’t some one come up with better artwork here?

I really like the saying ” A picture tells a thousand words”, and belive that the illustrator can capture the general idea or characters and convey that through good cover art.

I’m sure I’m not the only one who likes pretty pictures. What are your thoughts?

Has anyone got any favorite book illustrators or illustrations?

Tags: ,

One Response to “Don’t judge a book by the cover!”

  1. Melli (library staff) Says:

    I like pretty pictures too!

Leave a Reply

