New Moon Movie Review

by

Well, I have waited almost a week before reviewing the movie and I still don’t know what to write!  I knew that I wanted to see this movie at the cinema – I mean who doesn’t love a vampire movie on the big screen!  But I wasn’t really sure if I wanted to see it when it first came out – or when a bit of time had passed and I could watch it without the queues and the jostling for the best seat in the theatre.  But as luck would have it, a friend bought me a ticket for the opening Friday night.

Now first thing to be noted was the theatre was absolutely packed.  I mean I had to sit right up the front – the whole theatre was booked out.  Now I’m used to having at least a few seats free around me – Do you remember the last time you were at the cinema and it was packed?? But last Friday, we got there so ‘late’ that we had to sit 5 rows from the front! 5! Luckily, I had a really comfy seat – because I have to admit that it was a little too close for me!! 

As for the movie… I guess it depends how you feel about the first movie, or even the books.  I liked the first book, but was unsure of the first movie.  The second book I thought was  pretty good – so I was hoping that the movie would live up to the hype.  I think this time it does.  The special effects are better, the adherence to the books are better, and even the music is better! (I think!!)  One thing to be aware of though.  If you are going to sit right up the front – know that there are some camera angles that might have you wishing that you were able to snag a seat in the back row.

What do you think of New Moon?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “New Moon Movie Review”

  1. jam (library staff) Says:

    Hi Alice,
    I’m glad you enjoy reading the books! Have you seen the clip for Harry Potter though?? I think it will be great!

    • Alice Cullen Says:

      well i do like Harry Potter but when i read the twilight saga i thought that harry potter well suxed but my friends love harry potter.

  2. Alice Cullen Says:

    twilight is the best. i love twilight and my friends always say i need to do something else. i have read the books over tin times and i thought it was great. i love the moive but i don’t like how they did the ending i thought they could of done better. i am counting down to Eclipse and that is going to be the best but i think that Breaking Dawn is going to be the best. and HARRY POTTER STINKS

  3. jam (library staff) Says:

    Hi Maree,

    Have you started the countdown for the next movie yet?
    You really do notice the liberties that are taken when making a movie when it is such a famous book and such well known characters. I have to say my favourite translation from the book to the movie was how they demonstrated the months passing by!!
    Glad you had good seats! If my friends buy the tickets next time, I’m going to make sure they reserve good seats!! 🙂

  4. Maree Says:

    I too saw New Moon (and no Im not a 16 year old teenage girl, but the mother of a 14 year old daughter), so our house was counting down to the next installment of the Twilight saga. Special effects were great, a big improvement on the 1st movie, but my daugther and her girlfriends are definately “Team Jacob”, actually i think im alittle “Team Jacob” myself after the shirtless scene. The character of Edward was probably a little too meloncholy for the likes of the girls, whereas I’ve been told in the books Edward is more humorous, this didn’t come out in the movie.
    The cinema was packed on the day after the premiere but thankfully had good seats and didn’t get a neck cramp.

    Overall 3.5 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

