Classic books hit screens for Christmas

by

If you’ve nothing better to do, staring down the barrel of another six weeks until the end of term, you might like to start looking forward to the glut of movies that get released for the summer holidays. In amongst them are movies adapted from two classic books: A Christmas carol by Charles Dickens and Where the wild things are by Maurice Sendak.

I think A Christmas carol has been done to death – there have been so many TV, movie and pantomine productions of it – The Muppets did a version, and so did Blackadder – even Barbie has her little plastic heart warmed. Plus, this one’s got Jim Carrey as Scrooge and all three of the Ghosts of Christmas (you know, Past, Present and Future), and I’ve already seen the movie of Dr Seuss’ The Grinch who stole Christmas, so I figure that’s enough for me of Carrey going from an unmitigated grump to an all round nice bloke through the healing joy of Christmas.

Cynical? Maybe.

BUT I’m way, way, way excited about Where the wild things are. I love that book and the photos of the movie are amazing – they look exactly like Sendak’s illustrations. I’m just hoping that they’ve done as good a job with the plot and dialogue – I imagine there are a few challenges making a full length movie out of a picture book.

What does everyone else think – will you be seeing Max in his wolf suit, or Scrooge in his nightcap?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Classic books hit screens for Christmas”

  1. Timothy Says:

    For “Where the Wild Thigns Are” the director has said that this is not film for nine year olds, it’s a film about being a nine year old. I’m looking forward to it, but it’s a dark film that’s being advertised as a light film, IMO.

    Kind of like “A Christmas Carol” which is very true to the book, and so it’s really not the humorous romp which the adverts suggest. It’s about a man who is being haunted by four ghosts. They force him to face his mortality, and the imminent death of a disabled child, to make him to change his behavior. It’s not for little kids.

  2. Mia Says:

    Hi – it’s Wild Things all the way for me. I’ve looked at a few of the movie trailers online and even though the story has been expanded, I can’t wait to see Max in his wolf suit.

    I love the book and other by Maurice Sendak.

  3. Melli (library staff) Says:

    I AM SOOOO EXCITED ABOUT WHERE THE WILD THINGS ARE! I HAVE TO SCREAM WHEN I TYPE!
    A Christmas Carol looks good too. I hope it’s as good as The Grinch.

  4. sam Says:

    Yes I so am going to see it! I was at the movies on the weekend and was lucky enough to see at preview of the Where the wild things are. It sure does look amazing and rings true to the story book. I have high expectations of this film and really think I will not be disappointed….the book was a favourite of mine as a youngster…..

    No I will pass on the Jim Carrey A Christmas Carol as I am not a fan of Carrey’s movies. Plus yeah it has been done a billion times before. The Mad Hatter is also coming to cinemas in Spring of next year staring Johnny Depp. i have only seen a poster but I do like Depp films…don’t we all!

Leave a Reply

