Friday Five: Five reasons I love and loathe long distance plane flights

by

Airplanes

Having recently gone on long and lovely 2 month holiday with my family (including my 3 year old daughter!) we went on a lot of flights, some long and some not so long.  There were some good flights and some bad flights which got me thinking about the things I love and what I loathe about being cooped up on a plane for long distances.

My five loves of plane travel

1. Sense of Adventure

I love this feeling of excitement you get when you board the plane as you have the slight unknown factor of where you are going and what you will be seeing.  This includes taking off and landing because you are never quite sure what you are going to get!

2.  Inflight Entertainment

These days planes have the best inflight entertainment of the electronic kind and often it is on short flights as well.  My recent long haul flight to the USA had brand new inflight entertainment with games, chat, movies and tv.  These all contribute to make your flight go just a little bit faster.

3.  Plane Food

Call me crazy, but I secretly like getting food on the plane.  Well, admittedly I don’t always like everything that you get, but overall the food can be pretty good considering.  I like waiting to see what you get and getting to open up all the little packages. I especially enjoyed the delight of my 3 years old daughters face as she ate her first “kids meal”!

4.  People

You met lots of people flying on planes, from friendly (well most of the time!) flight attendents to the people you meet around you on the flights.  It is usually always interesting the people you meet on your travels.

5.  Getting off the plane

I love getting off the plane.  You know that feeling when you have just had enough of being cooped up and are dying to get out and stretch your legs properly.  The joyful feeling you get when your plane touches down and you finally get off, makes that annoying queue as you wait to exit so worth it.

My five loathes of plane travel

1.  Landing

I admit it,  I am not a big fan of the plane landing.  This is especially true if if has been a bumpy turbulent flight.  I always feel much better when we have landed and the plane has pulled up safely.

2.  Time on the plane

Long haul flights are the killer.  Short flights and flights under 5 hours are a piece of cake. When you get up to the 8 hours to 16 hours, I am over it.  Multiply this by five when you have a three year old in tow!

 3.  Being trapped in a steel tube with a three year old

This leads to my next loath of being trapped in what is essentially a steel tube in the air, trying desperately to keep a three year old entertained for long lengths of time.  Don’t get me wrong, kids are kids but there is always that sneaky fear that your kid is going to be the one that plays up on the plane and you will be under the wrath of the other travellers!

4.  People again

Hands up if you have ever been trapped on a plane with a weirdo sitting next to you. I know my hand is up.  You know when you are squashed in the window seat with the person in question on the other side of you.  That person either makes a huge fuss if you a) want to move (in other words getting out to use the rest room or getting your dinner from the flight attendent b)want to turn your light on to read or watch inflight entertainment.  The other extreme you get is the person who just will not be quiet, they want to tell you their WHOLE life story for the ENTIRE flight.

5.  The bathrooms

Uggh.  I loath airplane bathrooms.  Enough said.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Friday Five: Five reasons I love and loathe long distance plane flights”

  1. Melli (library staff) Says:

    The bathrooms are so terrible, even when they are clean they still smell a little bit ‘funny’.
    I love getting on a plane and discovering that it is half empty and I have 3 or 4 seats to myself. It is just FANTASTIC!

  2. librarysharon Says:

    I kinda like airplane food.
    But you know me… I eat food from a can.

  3. Mia (library staff) Says:

    I like the inflight entertainment, especially if I have my own screen. It means I can watch movies I wouldn’t normally own up to seeing – cos I was on the plane…

    My biggest loathe is that I have trouble sleeping on planes. Most of my plane trips have been relatively long distance ones and I usually end up in some foreign country sleep deprived amd wandering about aimlessly, which is not a good look.

    But I’m a big fan of the adventure bit – going somewhere new is always an exciting thing 🙂

  4. DJ Says:

    Ha ha… great post. Your post got me laughing and thinking about my travel experiences, the good and bad. Thumbs up for international inflight entertainment I say! Recently on a trip overseas I had to stop watching “Marley and Me” because I was a blubbering mess and was disrupting sleeping travellers around me. However on the way home I got to laugh outloud to “Yes Man” which was slightly less embarrassing but a great way to top off a great trip. Mmm airplane food, no complaints there….

Leave a Reply

