Evermore – the new Twilight?

by
Evermore book

Evermore book

Okay – so if you have been reading the blogs lately, people are trying to find the next big series.  Well I think I have found it!  Evermore, by Alyson Noel, is the first book in her series The Immortals – and it has the my vote for the next big literary craze!

Evermore is the story of Ever and Damen, and how time, distance and even death can not stop love!! The story revolves around orphan Ever, her friends Miles and Haven and the new boy at school Damen.  Who is Damen?  Why is he so secretive?  Why is the ghost of Riley (Ever’s sister) haunting her?

Yes, there are some similarities between Twilight and Evermore, and you would be forgiven for thinking that you know that twists and turns in the story.  I really thought I knew who and what Damen was – but I was mistaken!

Would I recommend this book?  Well if you are a fan of  Twilight – definitely!  It is a great book for the older teen readers who enjoy the saga of Twilight.

Make sure you check out Alyson Noel’s website so you can get some more info on the next book in the series – Blue Moon.

Have you read Evermore? Would you recommend it to readers who enjoyed Twilight?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

19 Responses to “Evermore – the new Twilight?”

  1. Cassia Cullen Says:

    I’m reading the 4th book, Dark Flame, and I’m really enjoying it. This series is not like Twilight at all, except from the whole, “I can live forever thing”.
    I luuurved Twilight! I have read all of the books a million times! 🙂
    I think The Immortals Series will not be quite as big a hit as Twilight but it’s pretty good.
    Also, if youu like this series, try House of Night Series by P.C and Kristin Cast or Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith. They’re both about vampires but it’s all gothic romance, which is what The Immortals Series is. 🙂
    Maybe, youu should look at the reviews for these books or search for some similar ones to the books that youu have read before. 🙂
    Can’t wait for Night Star, the 5th book! 😀 It comes out in March 2011 for the UK.
    Please visit http://www.wattpad.com, search for CassiaCullenXx and read my book Letters to Jesse. Youu can upload youur own stories or poems on wattpad. Make sure youu become my fan if youu enjoy the first few parts of my book, I’d luuurve to know what youu think about it! 🙂
    Youu can also find CrystalXTears on there, she’s my bezzie and KizzieX, shes’ my Twin!
    Thanks for reading my comment xxx

  2. ultimatefaaan! Says:

    i just finished reading it! great book! i recommend it! 8D you guys should read “vampire academy” just finished the 5th book, spirit bound. GREAT BOOK! ^^

  3. Michala Says:

    what is the conflict in this story?

  4. jazz Says:

    If u have read these books u would know that there is a big difference between it and Twilight!!! Please do all of those who have read it and Love it a favor and dont comment if u havent even read it!!!

    • jam (staff) Says:

      Thanks for your point of view jazz. What I like about this space is that everyone has a point of view and can express it.

      I think the similarities between the two books include the setting (high school) and the characterisations of the male protagonists as mysterious ‘strangers’ who the female lead character struggles to come to term with.
      Having said that, there are differences including the supernatural elements!

  5. Meggie Says:

    A review? I’m not sure what you mean. I mean, I’m going to start reviewing books with my other posts on my blog…

    • jam (staff) Says:

      Well – just like you do the posts on your own blog – you could post onto our blog any reviews on your favourite books or movies… Or you could write a post about your favourite characters… We would love to hear any info about what you do and don’t like!

  6. Meggie Says:

    It’s really great! I totally suggest reading it. It’s a little darker than the others, in a way, and there’s a lot less action, but the conflict is majorly unpredictable!

    • jam (staff) Says:

      Hey – That sounds brilliant!! Why not do a review?? I’m sure others would love to hear about it!! (not just me!!)

  7. Meggie Says:

    I’ve read the first two books in that series and am now reading the third book, Shadowland. I do not think that it is anything like Twilight, and while I enjoyed the first Twilight book, I did not like any of the others. I believe that they are milking this for everything it’s worth! Evermore, though, was an okay sort of book, not my favorite, but not very bad, either. 🙂

    • jam (staff) Says:

      What do you think of Shadowland?? I have not had the chance to read it yet and would be interested to know what you think!!

  8. Blue Moon or New Moon, you decide!! « blurb it Says:

    […] Blue Moon or New Moon, you decide!! By jam (library staff) A while ago, I reviewed Evermore by Alyson Noel… do you remember that post? […]

  9. 0205antoinetteh Says:

    after reading evermore my views on twilight changed. twilight seemed stupid and pointless. Evermore is the best book there is !!!!! =)

  10. DJ Says:

    Hmmm… do you see any similarities between the cover of “Evermore” and another popular series of books in this genre? Call me a cynic but publishers that use similar book covers to bestsellers must be compensating for something, or perhaps it just a really strategic marketing ploy… You be the judge.

    • jam (library staff) Says:

      That’s right DJ, it seems that publishers do that with not just text, but also pictures that are used on the book jackets… Maybe they think that we like to choose a book by its cover not what it is actually about!!

  11. Amber (library staff) Says:

    “Blue Moon”? Hmmm, sounds a whole lot like the second book in another series I’m familiar with.

    All that aside, I’m interested in giving it a shot. It doesn’t hurt that it’s a mere 300-ish pages long. At least it won’t take long to decide whether or not it’s for me.

    • jam (library staff) Says:

      Give it a go Amber, see what you think! It did only take me a short time to read… let me know what you think when you’ve finished it!

  12. Megan Says:

    Honestly, I wasn’t crazy about this one — but I can appreciate that others enjoy it! I’m still a Twilight girl through and through. 🙂

    • jam (library staff) Says:

      Thanks for that Megan. Yeah I tend to think that the people that enjoyed Twilight may not like the similarities… but I think that it is still different enough to have a place!

Leave a Reply

