The Prince of Nowhere

by

I’ve been reading the graphic novel series Courtney Crumrin for little while now and have really enjoyed some of the stories and all of the artwork involved.  Written and illustrated by Ted Naifeh (who also worked on the acclaimed Gloomcookie – it’s on the must read list), the Courtney Crumrin stories follow Courtney and the adventures she has while living with her slightly creepy and magical Uncle Aloysius.  I really enjoyed the early stories like Courtney Crumrin and the night things, or Courtney Crumrin and the Twilight Kingdom.  The second most recent story I encountered in the Library was Courtney Crumrin and the fire thief’s tale which was an interesting read. 

But where am I going with this? Well, last night I finally read the latest installment Courtney Crumrin and the Prince of Nowhere . . . and I was a little disappointed.  Although the pictures were beautiful as always, it felt like some of the story was missing.  At one point I even checked to see if I’d missed pages.  The storyline moves too fast, seems to skip bits and unlike the previous efforts doesn’t always add much more depth to the characters.  I felt like I’d only been given two thirds of the scenes and was expected to guess the character development from them.

So what does this mean?  I know I’ll keep reading more Courtney Crumrin stories because I like the characters and the artwork but I might not be so eager in the future to get my hands on a new copy.  What about you, ever started reading a series and later felt let down? Let me know which ones to avoid.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

