Graphic classics

by

When I first waded my way through the densely described world created by JRR Tolkien, I thought “wow” and then I thought “can this guy just not get on and tell the story – I don’t care about this elven prince’s lineage?”
But they are great stories, which is why I loved the Lord of the Rings movies and why I really enjoyed reading The Hobbit graphic novel – it’s still Tolkien’s words, but they’ve been stripped back to the core of the tale, which is a great adventure/quest, and it speeds along.

I’ve seen in the library the graphic novel of The great Gatsby (by Nicki Greenberg) but I’ve been a bit too weirded out by the fact that the characters are all depicted as some sort of freaky aquatic lifeforms (is that a puffer fish driving a car?) to actually read it. Has anyone else read it?

I have to admit, I like the idea of turning classic novels into graphic novels. I’m going to go and place a hold on the graphic novel of Frankenstein because it’s one of those books that I’ve always meant to read and I know what happens in it, but I’ve just never got around to reading it.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Graphic classics”

  1. -s Says:

    I agree with your comment about Tolkien’s excessive description! I am so glad somebody actually said it! I have been keeping my opinion secret for a long time now. It is a bit like the Bible where it describes how Abraham begot Isaac who begot Esau who begot… (okay, so I know I got the names wrong…)

  2. Andrew Dodd Says:

    If you like the classics in graphic novel format, check out http://www.campfire.co.in. So far we have published 13 classics and there are plenty more on the way.

Leave a Reply

