Friday five: All time favourite movie soundtracks

by

Movie soundtracks have been on high rotation on my iPod lately, so I thought I’d share some of my favs with you all.

5. Dangerous minds

Uh-oh, I’m showing my age… This 1995 film starring Michelle Pfeiffer featured the Grammy award winning track “Gangsta’s paradise”. This soundtrack made it to number one on the ARIA charts in the year the movie was released.

4. One perfect day

A must-listen for fans of nst-nst music, the One perfect day soundtrack is two CDs worth of dance and trance. From the 2004 Australian film starring one of my favourite Aussie actors, Abbie Cornish.

3. City of angels

I could cry every time I listen to this album because, well, have you seen the movie?! Devastatingly, breathtakingly sad, City of angels was a movie in which the music really set the scene. Listening to the soundtrack never fails to bring it all back. This album features an all-star line up, including U2, Alanis Morissette, Jimi Hendrix, Eric Clapton, and my all time favourite artist, Sarah McLachlan. It’s an eclectic mix of tracks, and is certainly deserving of a place on my all time top five list.

2. Romeo + Juliet

This modern take on Shakespeare’s classic was one of the defining films of my teenage years (again with showing my age!) – I saw it at the cinema several times (four, I think). Choc-full of alternative/pop rock (and a couple of ballads, too) and featuring stellar tracks like “#1 crush” and “Kissing you”, this album has appeal for people with diverse taste in music. Volume 2 was released a year later and included the “film’s orchestral score, dialog from the film, and songs not featured on the previous album” (hat tip Wikipedia). Both volumes are awesome.

1b. Twilight (cause I just couldn’t keep it to five!)

Perfect Sunday-afternoon-drive music. The first time I listened to this album, I thought it was a bit lack-lustre. But the more I listened, the more I liked it. An album I can listen to over, and over, and over again. And not just because I am a shameless Twilight fan!

1a. Cruel intentions

Quite possibly THE perfect album. It’s a moody – dark in places, lyrical and lovely in others – mix of pop rock. My favourite tracks are… well, actually, not sure I can pick favourites for this particular album. Although Counting Crows’ “Colorblind” and Craig Armstrong’s “This love” are too of my very favourite tracks ever. Love, love, love this album.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

