Teen “must-reads” (part two)

by

So, last week I gave a list of what I felt were “must-reads” for teens. Now, for an equally-long list of teen books that I “must read” – that is, books that I haven’t  yet read, which I really should have, or books that haven’t come out, which I’ll be jumping at the moment they arrive at the bookstore.

Firstly – the Classics

Okay, here are the classics which I’m embarrassed to say I haven’t read yet, but this is the perfect chance to list them…

The adventures of Huckleberry Finn – Mark Twain Written in 1884, this is (very arguably) the definitive birth of subversive American teen literature. I still don’t know why I haven’t read it yet.

The Outsiders – S. E. Hinton Often cited by teachers and librarians as an excellent starting point to get guys hooked on reading. Very real characters dealing with the harsh cruelties of society.

Go Ask Alice – Anonymous Allegedly a real diary, it’s the story of a girl who experiments with drugs and goes off the rails into a downward spiral of bad-ness.

Annie on my mind – Nancy Garden New Yorker teenage girls fall in love. Everybody gets confused and upset.

Now – My list of books that have come out recently that I REALLY need to get onto reading! Half of them are literally sitting on my bedside table.

An abundance of Katherines and Paper Towns – John Green Nerdy boys meet their dream girls, but everybody’s a bit too screwed up to make it work, but they all learn something anyway. Story of my life, really.

Keeper – Mal Peet A boy from a poor village becomes the world’s greatest goalkeeper. But not without some weirdness happening in the jungle. Mal is coming to Australia this month for Reading Matters.

The 10PM question – Kate De Goldi Frankie Parsons is 12 years old and troubled by a lot of questions. A new girl arrives at his school, confusion abounds.

The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins Teens fighting for their life on a kill-or-be killed Reality Television show. You thought Big Brother was bad…

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks – E. Lockhart Brilliant girl goes from total geek to go-getter with gorgeous boyfriend, masterminding shennanigans at boarding school, until things start getting out of hand…

The Astonishing life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation – M.T. Anderson I’ve overlooked this book a few times, because I’m not hugely interested in American History, but I’ve heard so many rave reports about it, that I can’t ignore it any longer! Plus the author is visiting Australia this month!

Suite Scarlett – Maureen Johnson Maureen is one of my favourite bloggers, and I feel bad that I haven’t read any of her books yet. Plus this book has now made the New York Times bestseller list, and as a result, Maureen has now committed to learn the high-wire trapeze  (due to a foolish bet).

Solace of the Road – Siobhan Dowd The final book by the late Siobhan Dowd. Holly hates her life, and so she finds a wig and takes on a new, more confident persona of  “Solace” and hitches around Ireland in search of her mum. I should really also add Bog Child to this list as well.

If I stay – Gayle Forman Mia, a brilliant cellist, is in a coma after a horrific car accident, and finds herself outside her body, faced with a choice: Leave this world and move on to the next, or stay and fight. But is this world really worth it?

Coming Soon – Must-read books coming later this year.

The Ask and the Answer – Patrick Ness The much-awaited sequel to The Knife of Never Letting Go, an amazing novel which I can’t really say much about without spoiling.

The Billionaire’s Curse – Richard Newsome The inaugural winner of Text Publishing’s Young Adult prize, he was signed up for a three-book publishing deal on the basis of this first novel. I expect a nail-biting around-the-world adventure of intrigue.

Liar – Justine Larbalestier One careless omission on the recent “Must-Read” list of last week was Justine’s Magic or Madness trilogy, and her recent How to ditch your fairy went to further extremes of fun, whilst still being intelligent and thoughtful. I look forward to her latest book with keen anticipation.

Leviathan – Scott Westerfeld Speaking of Justine, her partner in life (and YA writing), author of the spectacular Extras series, has a new book coming out, set in an alternative World War One with airships. It’s going to be spectacularly awesome.

Vulture’s Gate – Kirsty Murray Another Australian writer, Kirsty is making a departure from historical fiction, and looking to the future – a bleak one where all the females have died out. Or have they?

OKAY! So, clearly I’ve got a lot of reading to do… so do you! What do you think? Have you read any of these books yet, and want to talk about them (but no spoilers, PLEASE!)? Are there any books that you’re really looking forward to?

Feel free to leave a comment!

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Teen “must-reads” (part two)”

  1. Kate (library staff) Says:

    Thanks for a great post! So much reading material, so little time. Any tips for finding more hours in the day for reading?!

    I can’t believe you didn’t read The Outsiders at school! I thought it was mandatory high school reading!

    Scott Westerfeld is one author I’ve been meaning to read for a while. Kind of ashamed to say I haven’t read the Uglies, but Leviathan sounds right up my alley. I’m a sucker for a good war story…

    One last question: got any tips for blurb it readers on how to keep up-to-date with what’s happening in young adult literature? How do you keep on track on what’s new and exciting?

Leave a Reply

