Friday Five: Top five popular films for the next holiday season!

by

With this year flying by, the June/July school holidays will be upon us before we know it. After slippers, hot chocolate and comfort food, the one thing I love about Winter is school holiday film releases!

Below are my picks for top five films, in reverse order:

5. Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs (July 1 2009)

I admit it’s rare I’ll go and see an animated film, but I did by chance happen to catch Ice Age: The Meltdown, and I was pleasantly surprised. It’s good to be able to go and see a movie everyone will enjoy, and I’m sure this will be one of the most popular movies come school holiday season.

4. Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen (June 24 2009)

I was born in the ’80s and I like Transformers. Simple as that. Much to my relief, I liked the first film! I’m hoping this one will do the Transformers franchise the same justice.

3. Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian (21 May 2009)

In short, I will watch anything in which Owen Wilson features. But this does look like a good follow-up from the original.

2. Away We Go (17 June 2009, but with limited release)

Okay, I admit this is a little bit self indulgent, and it does stand out in this list but take my word for it when I say it’ll be a great film. Sam Mendes – who directed recent films like Revolutionary Road, American Beauty, and Road to Perdition – has done something a little bit different in making a seemingly light, romantic film about a young couple who travel around the U.S. trying to find a place to settle before the birth of their first child. It stars Maggie Gyllenhaal and John Krasinski (Jim from the [U.S.] Office), but most importantly was written by my favourite author Dave Eggers. Yeah, enough rambling.

1. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (July 15 2009)

Surely this was predictable! With each Harry Potter film, the suspense builds for me just that little bit more. For me, the darker the film looks the better, and this trailer looks fantastic. I will sacrifice myself to the crowds in order to be able to see this film on its release… which is rare for me.

Anyone got any others to add? Are you looking forward to Half-Blood Prince as much as I am?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

