Watchmen and other classic graphic novels

by

The just released Watchmen movie is based on a classic graphic novel by Alan Moore.  It’s gotten me thinking about what other graphics novels and comics could be considered classics.  I’m going to include in my post some that are considered classics and some of my favourites.  Considering that there is a lengthy and voluminous history behind many of today’s most well known series, I’ve picked a few story lines that stand out as being among the most memorable or important for the characters and fans.

Do you agree with my choices, or have I overlooked the best comic/story line on the face of the Earth?  Post in and let me know what you think.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Watchmen and other classic graphic novels”

  1. Craig Says:

    Watchmen, V For Vendetta, Sandman and The Dark Knight Returns are definite classics. Others include Swamp Thing and Miracleman (unfortunately no longer in print). Recent classics would include such Vertigo works as Fables, Y The Last Man, The Invisibles, Transmetropolitan and Preacher.

    The best thing about these comics is that they prove that comics can be a serious medium – it’s not just about superheroes any more. Dive in and I can guarantee you will find something you like.

  2. fullbodytransplant Says:

    Tight work, although I would add Promethea.

    And when it comes to Watchmen, I still miss the original ending with the squid:

    http://fullbodytransplant.wordpress.com/2009/03/09/watchmen-squid-the-real-ending/

    Good times.

Leave a Reply

