If you are going to lie to me, please make it invisible!

by

The TV show “Lie to Me”  appeals to me for two main reasons. One, I enjoy learning about human behaviour, and two, Tim Roth is a superb actor (if you don’t believe me, check him out as the villain in “Rob Roy”).

What I don’t like about the show is its clumsy exposition. A good script uses dialogue to seamlessly impart  background information into the story. In “Lie to Me”, you can’t help but notice  textbook facts dropped awkwardly  into the dialogue. They stand out like sore thumbs. Perhaps it is the  inability  of some of the actors  to express these “facts” in a natural conversational tone – I don’t know, but either way the imparting of these “facts” is glaringly obvious, spoiling the viewer’s immersion into the story. With any luck  either the scripting or acting may get better, because the shows premise shows promise. Now here’s some of my own clumsy exposition.

In case you don’t know, the show is based on psychologist Paul Ekman and his ground breaking work in the field of  (you guessed it)  human deception. I don’t know too many people that enjoy being lied to,including myself,  so any tips on when it may be happening is a good thing. So I actually do enjoy learning from the not so subtle info bites dropped into the story. I hope the show scores high ratings so the network doesn’t drop it before it has a chance to iron out the bumps.

Has anyone else watched the show?

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “If you are going to lie to me, please make it invisible!”

  1. Jamiee Says:

    No I Haven’t But,
    The Best Tv Shows/Series Out So Far Would Have To Be,
    Desprate Housewives & Bones.
    Trust Me Take It From A 16 Year Old Thats What Gets Us These Days.
    🙂
    😉

Leave a Reply

