Thank you Mario, but our princess is in another castle!

by

Something that a lot of people don’t know about me is that I have a not-so-secret obsession: Nintendo. I’m giving away my age a little here, but sitting proudly on my tv cabinet is the original NES, a SNES, a Nintendo 64 and a Wii. I love love love all things Nintendo.  

null

 This weekend, I went to relive my childhood memories of games that are no longer working/available to purchase/in existence, and went to visit the Game On Exhibitionat the State Library in Southbank. If any types of video games on any console interest you, you haveto get to this exhibition before it moves on after 15 February. Have I stressed that enough? It features two levels of over 100 playable games. Atari VCS, Commodore 64 (mention those to your parents and see if they get excited), Sega, Playstation and my beloved Nintendo consoles are all there featuring a range of classic and currently popular games. The consoles themselves are in locked glass cabinets, but seeing the older ones which are close to thirty years old was something special. I saw both Mums and Dads having as much fun with Space Invaders, Pong and Pac Man as I did kids with Final Fantasy, Guitar Hero and Wii Sports. There really is something for everyone. 

Like I said, after being around since the beginning of the school holidays, this exhibition only has a couple of weeks left. So be quick!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

