A year in tunes: my favourite (and not-so-favourite) albums and singles of 2008

by

A year in tunes… 2008 was a good year for muzak! This year, the top albums on my iPod were:

  • As I am – Alicia Keys
  • Been waiting – Jessica Mauboy
  • Ministry of Sound Anthems 1991 – 2008
  • Here I stand – Usher
  • Viva la vida or Death and all his friends – Coldplay
  • The Potbelleez – The Potbelleez

The album I was most disappointed with in 2008 was Madonna’s Hard candy. After a promising first single in 4 minutes with JT, I found this album to be so disappointing I didn’t even bother putting it on my iPod. And I am a die hard Madonna fan. Bummer.

2008 was a stellar year for big singles. The tracks that have stayed on my playlist throughout the year include:

  • The creeps – Fredde Le Grande (I have seven versions of this track on my iPod)
  • Black and gold – Sam Sparro (pity about the tripping incident on the Arias)
  • Superwoman – Alicia Keys
  • Burn – Jessica Mauboy
  • Trouble trouble – The Potbelleez
  • Closer – Ne-Yo

And last but not least: the 2008 single I never want to hear again: Kasey Chambers and Shane Nicholson’s Rattlin bones. I’m not a country fan at the best of times, but that is one stick-in-your-head track and once is definitely enough.

What about you? What tunes did you love and loathe in 2008?

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “A year in tunes: my favourite (and not-so-favourite) albums and singles of 2008”

  1. Craig Says:

    Favourite albums in 2008 – Beck’s Modern Guilt, Coldplay’s Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends, Oasis’s Dig Out Your Soul… I’m forgetting some.

Leave a Reply

