Last Twilight book postponed after draft copy leaked

by

Publication of Midnight Sun, the fifth and final book in author Stephenie Meyer’s blockbuster Twilight series, has been indefinitely delayed following a leak of a draft copy

Meyer is quoted as saying

I feel too sad about what has happened to continue working on “Midnight Sun,” and so it is on hold indefinitely.

This is sad news for Meyer fans who are eagerly awaiting the next installment. But…

Meyer has decided to make the leaked partial draft available for download from her website, with the following note about her decision to do so

I’d rather my fans not read this version of Midnight Sun. It was only an incomplete draft; the writing is messy and flawed and full of mistakes. But how do I comment on this violation without driving more people to look for the illegal posting? It has taken me a while to decide how and if I could respond. But to end the confusion, I’ve decided to make the draft available here (at the end of this post). This way, my readers don’t have to feel they have to make a sacrifice to stay honest. I hope this fragment gives you further insight into Edward’s head and adds a new dimension to the Twilight story. That’s what inspired me to write it in the first place.

So, what do you think? Will you, or won’t you, read the draft?

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Last Twilight book postponed after draft copy leaked”

  1. blessing Says:

    i love twilight so much I’ve actually read it more that 100times all of it twilight, new moon, eclipse, breaking dawn, the short second life of Bree tanner and Midnight Sun partial draft

  2. missy (library staff) Says:

    I have just started reading the Twilight books and I am hooked. There is no way I could read the draft, it would spoil everything. Hopefully after I read the first four, I will have the anticipation of reading the fifth.

  3. jam (library staff) Says:

    I hope she does continue to write the story! I’m also looking forward to the release of the movie later in the year – considering we now have to wait till the middle of next year for the next installment of the Harry Potter movie!

Leave a Reply

